Our Church Building

Our Church Building

Our main church building is a red sandstone Gothic-style church built by Badenoch & Bruce in 1905.

The adjoining hall, now designated as the ‘Old Hall’ was originally the United Presbyterian church built in 1899 by Alexander Petrie. This original building was instigated by Maryhill United Presbyterian Church [now Gairbraid Church]. Their minister, the Rev William Church Front - SummerDuncan, had encouraged them and others in the area to open a ‘church extension’ at Anniesland Cross.

The main church bulding has a U-plan interior with red pine panelled gallery and pews. There is a War Memorial at the end of the north aisle of the church which was originally from Temple Parish Church (now demolished).

On the west wall of the church, to the left of the organ casing is a unique clock designed and built in 1921 by Temple Parish minister, Rev J Carswell. Many of the parts are said to have been donated by Barr and Stroud (now Thales Optronics), the optical engineering company which had its main factory in the area until 2001.

As an historical aside, the memorial stone in the north stairwell was laid by John Stephen of Linthouse, a member of the famous Glasgow ship-building family. Thales Optronics now has its manufacturing facility at the location of the former Stephen’s ship-building yard in Linthouse.

We have loop facilities for the hard of hearing and two toilets for wheel-chair users which are easily accessible from the entrance areas of the church.